Concealed Weapon Applications, Are You Surprised At The Amount? [POLL]
Does it surprise you to know that so many people here in Maine want concealed weapon permits that the lone state cop in charge of issuing them can't keep up with the process?
People who live in cities or towns with their own police departments can get their concealed weapon permit denied or approved there. But all other Maine residents and out of state folks who want to carry a concealed weapon must go through the state police.
State Police has one lone funded employee to take care of this process, and there's no more bucks for any additional help.
Believe it or not 150 applications flow in every day. State Police are facing a backlog of 4.600 applications.
Man, that's a lot of hidden public hardware out there on the streets. Better not piss anybody off today. Or, if you're carrying a concealed weapon, go ahead and piss someone off, what are they going to do about it?
According to state law, approval or denial of concealed weapons permits must be decided within 60 days, renewals must be decided within 30 days. According to a police spokesperson, with the amount of applications flowing into the office, there's no way that can be done with one employee.
Here's the requirements in order to get a permit approved:
1. 18 years of age or older.
2. Not prohibited from possessing a firearm under state law.
3. Be of good moral character. In judging good moral character the issuing authority shall make its determination based upon evidence recorded by governmental entities within the last 5 years.
So, here's the question of the day, and feel free to comment!