A patchwork of firework laws and ordinances throughout Maine towns are making enforcement difficult.

It seems the website for the state Fire Marshal's Office is ever changing as towns set forth their own laws regarding fireworks. These ordinances are the difference between a lit up sky in one town, or a quiet night in others.

For towns without restrictions, consumer grade fireworks can be used from 9AM to 10PM. Those hours are expanded on the 4th of July and December 31st, to 9AM to 12:30AM

Some towns only allow fireworks on certain days of the year and some prohibit them only on high fire danger days.

Maine's larger city's ban fireworks, including Bangor, Portland, Lewiston, Auburn and Augusta.

Be sure to check with your local fire department about the use of fireworks or check the Maine Fire Marshal's website.