I remember when my grandfather stopped driving.

He called it a day all on his own. He was always super concerned with the safety of others when he was behind the wheel. He'd always say, I'd rather hit another car all day long, than hit a pedestrian." And it was true. Sometimes it felt like it took him 100 years to back out of the driveway.

Read More: Maine Drivers Often Disregard this Important Winter Driving Law

But, there came a point when he thought that he couldn't turn his head as far or as quickly as he'd like, plus a few other minor issues, so he pulled the plug. However, we all know that some folks don't want to make that decision at all, whether or not it's probably best for them and everyone else on the road.

But, are you required to report someone if they should stop driving?


One could certainly make the argument that morally, you should probably do something about it, if you know specifically someone shouldn't be behind the wheel. It could be a medical condition. Or a cognitive issue. There are any number of legit reasons why someone should give up driving.


But, in Maine, you aren't required by law to report someone. However, there are legal channels within the state to do so. So it comes back to the moral issue. Maybe a relative or a close friend of the family just won't stop. You can go through the state and fill out a Driver Medical Evaluation form.

Close-up of Wooden gavel with golden scales of justice and books on background

What happens then?

At that point, the person in question will need to submit to some kind of health evaluation with a medical professional, who will assess the person and make a decision about whether the person needs to have their license taken away. Sometimes it's only temporary. And yes, there is a process for getting a license reinstated, if applicable.

Read More: Bangor, Maine has One Stop Light that's Driving People Crazy

But, you can't just call the cops and tell them grandma can't drive anymore. It's definitely not that simple. Nor will be the conversation had with the person who may lose their license. No one likes to lose their privileges they've had for decades. But it can be necessary. But you aren't legally responsible to do anything, even if you should.

Go ahead and get some serious sticker shock from the old days...

LOOK: See how much gasoline cost the year you started driving

To find out more about how has the price of gas changed throughout the years, Stacker ran the numbers on the cost of a gallon of gasoline for each of the last 84 years. Using data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics (released in April 2020), we analyzed the average price for a gallon of unleaded regular gasoline from 1976 to 2020 along with the Consumer Price Index (CPI) for unleaded regular gasoline from 1937 to 1976, including the absolute and inflation-adjusted prices for each year.

Read on to explore the cost of gas over time and rediscover just how much a gallon was when you first started driving.

Gallery Credit: Sophia Crisafulli

LOOK: Here are the states where you are most likely to hit an animal

Hitting an animal while driving is a frightening experience, and this list ranks all 50 states in order of the likelihood of such incidents happening, in addition to providing tips on how to avoid them.

Gallery Credit: Dom DiFurio & Jacob Osborn

LOOK: What major laws were passed the year you were born?

Data for this list was acquired from trusted online sources and news outlets. Read on to discover what major law was passed the year you were born and learn its name, the vote count (where relevant), and its impact and significance.

Gallery Credit: Katelyn Leboff

More From WWMJ Ellsworth Maine