Temporary Fine Reduction For Hands Free Law’s First Offense
Now this is interesting and welcome as Maine’s drivers attempt to adjust their cellphone habits. Turns out when our senator Bill Diamond first proposed the new cellphone law the fine was supposed to be $85.00, a far cry from the $230.00 that presented to us last week.
As WGME reports the higher fine was set by a Chief Judge as he interpreted the parameters. Because of this difference Maine’s Judicial Branch has put in a temporary reduction of the fine for the first offense to give the state legislature a chance to revisit and revise permanently is they see fit. They will have until April of next year to decide which amount is the most in line with the laws intent.
Till then remember one swipe of tap is all you get. It also has to be mounted in the car and if you have to do more than tap it or talk to it, pull over and save yourself some money and possible harm.